361MC – Short Film Research

After coming to terms with the fact that Kelly and I were now going to be creating a short film, instead of an animation, I now need to complete some research into short films. Although I have worked on a short film on a previous module, this one is the most pressured and only created totally by myself and Kelly. I wanted to research some short films about Anorexia, just to gain a general idea about how they look, the narrative they tell, the message they are trying to get across etc.

Screen Shot 2015-05-08 at 23.20.31

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FgCjyxkgvbo

This is a short film I watched about a young boys journey suffering from an eating disorder. I liked how the film was quite dark and shadowy. It gave the film a slight edge, but kept me watching and wanted to know what was going to happen to the young boy. There was soft music playing over the top of the film, which is also liked. It helps to control the audience’s’ emotion. However, the music they had did have someone singing, which I thought was slightly distracting. I wouldn’t like that in my film. There were some interesting shots in the film too, which I would like to do in my film too.

Screen Shot 2015-05-08 at 23.33.46

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NeysGFhc4qA

I also watching another short film called The Unspoken. It is a very creative short film which I really enjoy and has inspired me for my own film.

 

Leave a Reply

