361MC – Evaluation of my Role

I played many different roles in the development of this project. Kelly and I split responsibilities, but always made sure we knew what we were doing, that we had the same ideas of how things wanted to go and kept each other updated on what we were doing/ had done. During the shoot, I had the role of Cinematographer. It was the first time I had taken on this role, so initially at the beginning I was quite worried, but I think I fulfilled the role as best I could. After the first couple of scenes, I started to enjoy the role of Cinematographer; I started to experiment with different shots, doing zooms and tracking shots.

A cinematographer needs to:

  • have good technical knowledge of photo-chemical and digital processes
  • know all about camera equipment
  • have in-depth knowledge of lighting techniques and how to achieve them
  • be flexible in order to adapt ideas instantly
  • be able to take decisions quickly
  • be creative
  • have artistic vision
  • have excellent communication skills

During the shoot, I also took on the role of Lighting. I have had this role on a project in the second year of University, which I really enjoyed and got great feedback for. So I was happy to get another opportunity to try it again. This time however, I felt quite unsure on the day. I would set the lighting to how I thought it should be, but it just didn’t look right. Before each scene I would have to move the lighting around to make it look at least half right. This did take up a lot of time. Eventually on the day, I did feel happier about the lighting and got more confident as the day went on.

Roles of a light technician include:

  • assembling all the lighting equipment needed
  • conducting risk assessments for health and safety purposes
  • plotting the lighting
  • reviewing footage shots with the director
  • operating and maintaining equipment during the shoot
  • ensuring all lighting equipment is in working order
  • changing lighting between shots, as necessary

 

During the post-production stage, I took on the role of editor. I have always enjoyed editing, so I said I was more then happy to do this. However, when I said this I underestimated the challenge I was giving myself. There was a lot of footage to go through, then a lot of it needed cropping or editing in other ways. There was a lot to do.

However, during the editing I did notice all of the mistakes I made with the camera work and lighting. The lighting wasn’t consistent; some scenes were too dark, whereas others were over lite. I was very disappointed to see that my camera zooms were very jumpy and camera work in general was quite shaky. This made it very hard to edit and meant a number of scenes I had to either cut down, crop or just take out altogether. This left my feeling quite downhearted and like I had let Kelly down in a way. However, I kept professional during this experience and just carried on and tired my best to make best of the situation.

Overall, I spent about two weeks editing, where I had to re-edit twice and crop lots of the footage to create new shots. I have learnt a lot and gained many vital skills from my editing experience, which will all contribute towards my professional future.

Leave a Reply

