361MC – EPK Critical Evaluation

Next I had to start thinking about creating the EPK. First I started my research about what an EPK consists of. Although I have made one before, I needed to make sure I was including everything I needed and to a high standard. I needed to be certain of the contents for an Electronic Press Kit and how they are presented.

My research taught me that we needed to include the following in out EPK; Synopsis, cast and crew bios, director’s statement, film stills, production stills, trailer, FAQ’s, contact information, quotes and any screening information.

I started to research other short film EPKs, which might give me an idea on how to design and present my own.

Screen Shot 2015-05-08 at 20.45.28

Screen Shot 2015-05-08 at 20.45.06 Screen Shot 2015-05-08 at 20.43.58 Screen Shot 2015-05-08 at 20.42.46

This research has taught me that the more colourful and interesting the front-page it, the likely chance that the reader will carry on reading. Where as, I found that when I was reading the plain EPKs with only a white background and plain text, I would be uninterested after looking for only a couple of seconds and want to go off the page. This is not what I want from my EPK.

Overall, I really like our EPK. I think it’s really interesting, a variety of colours and images that will get the audiences attention and tell you everything you need to know from an EPK. Compared other EPKs, I think mine sits in the middle. It isn’t boring like the white background ones, but isn’t as good quality as the high end, top budget film. Which in a way I’m happy with.

Leave a Reply

